Bart Johnson selected for 2016-17 Fund for Faculty Excellence award

Bart Johnson, head and professor of landscape architecture, is one of fifteen UO faculty chosen for a 2016-17 Fund for Faculty Excellence award.

Professor Bart Johnson
Professor Bart Johnson

The FFE Committee recognized Johnson’s outstanding accomplishments in research and teaching in the areas of applied ecology in landscape design and planning through integration of people and their use of the land with the native ecosystems and evolutionary processes.

Johnson has authored numerous articles, received significant research grants, been recognized by the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture with the senior level Excellence in Research Award in 2014, and continues to guide the growing graduate program in the Department of Landscape Architecture. The department’s PhD program is one of just three in the United States.

Fund for Faculty Excellence recipients receive a one-time salary stipend of $20,000 (exclusive of OPE). An awardee may elect to take the award alternatively as research funds totaling $25,000. 

The fund is designed to materially enhance the university’s strategic commitment to improve its overall academic quality and reputation by supporting, recognizing, and retaining world-class tenured faculty. 

Previous recipients from A&AA include Doug Blandy, Kenny Helphand, Jeff Hurwit, Alison Kwok (2006-07); Renee Irvin, Marc Schlossberg, and Andrew Schulz (2007-08); Howard Davis (2008-09); Nico Larco and Kate Mondloch (2013-14); Anya Kivarkis, Richard Margerum, and Laura Vandenburgh (2014-15); and Mark Gillem (2015-16).