Research travel award open to architecture alumni under 35

February 4, 2013

Architecture or interior architecture alumni of the University of Oregon under age 35 are eligible to compete between February 1 and March 8 for the Cavin Family Traveling Fellowship, an annual competition offered only to graduates from UO or Cal Poly Pomona.

The Fellowship Fund was established in 2002 by Brooks Cavin III, AIA, and honors the families and architectural traditions of William Brooks Cavin, Sr. and William Brooks Cavin, Jr., FAIA. The fellowship is a $10,000 award for self-devised foreign travel-study with the mission of advancing the education of young architecture graduates.

The competition involves three phases. The first step is registering for the competition between February 1 and March 8. On March 14, the competition program will be announced, signaling the start of a weekend charrette that terminates March 18. Applicants must download the competition program, complete their design, and upload their final submission within the given time frame.

On March 25, the jury announces four to six finalists who are invited to participate in a discussion of their design ideas and project concepts with the jury and Brooks Cavin on April 5 at Cal Poly Pomona. Criteria used by the jury include inventiveness of proposed solution, organizing thesis, poetics, clarity of project sustainability, development, response to program site, overall quality, and proposal for travel abroad.

Winners are required to keep a travel journal of sketches, drawings, and text for permanent archive and access to the general public. Recent winners are UO alumnus Michael D’Ambrosia (2009) and Daniel Toole (2011) and Cal Poly Pomona’s Garrett Van Leeuwen (2010) and Aaron Locke (2012).

Candidates must be U.S. citizens under the age of 35 as of April 2013, and must hold a professional architecture or interior architecture degree from either UO or Cal Poly Pomona. Finalists’ entries from 2010 through 2012 are available on the fellowship website along with the 2013 application guidelines.