Four College of Design Research Teams Make it Rain with Research and Innovation Grants

forest fire

The UO’s Resilience Initiative Funding program has awarded seed grants to seven interdisciplinary research teams working on sustainability, resilience, and climate change. College of Design faculty members are on four of these teams:

  • Department of Landscape Architecture Professor Bart Johnson is on a team that looks at transdisciplinary approaches to indigenous fire stewardship and the restoration of forest resilience
  • School of Planning, Public Policy and Management Associate Professors Rebecca Lewis and Yizhao Yang will research what affects transportation choices in downtown Eugene
  • Department of Landscape Architecture Assistant Professor Yekang Ko will examine how to build resilient communities for vulnerable unhoused populations through the lens of integrated social, environmental, and economic justice
  • Department of Architecture Professor Kevin Van Den Wymelenberg and Department of Landscape Architecture Assistant Professor Kory Russel are on a team working on resilient housing.

The piloting grants provide funds up to $50,000.

To learn more about the Resilience Initiative grants, read the Around the O story.